A lesson in witholding judgement

I got to school today, and picked a nice bench on the quad to sit down and eat my lunch, since its insanely nice out. I watched a group of people, 4 guys and a girl, playing frisbee for a while. The guys were all running around, diving and jumping for the frisbee, while the girl just stood there and stretched her arm out pathetically if the frisbee came near her. They were all wearing athletic clothes, and she was in jeans. I saw her hug one of the guys, and concluded that she must have came to play only because he invited her, and that she was less cool/interesting than the guys who decided that they wanted to come out and play on this beautiful day.

I hear her say, “Guys! What if I use my left hand?” They all refused her, and I was curious, why would she want to use her left hand? The frisbee was thrown to her, and she caught it. She took off running, all the way across the quad, then turned around and threw that frisbee further than I’ve ever seen a frisbee be thrown. I was totally shocked and impressed. She wasn’t playing before, not because she was lame, but because they wouldn’t let her because she was too good!

I am grateful to have received this little lesson in withholding judgement, something I’ve been working on lately.

Leave a Reply

